Baby Progress: Week 38

How far along? 38 weeks (39 weeks tomorrow!)

Total weight gain/loss: Roughly 17 lbs. I don’t understand those guidelines about gaining 1lb per week in third trimester because there is NO ROOM FOR FOOD.

Maternity clothes? I haven’t really been leaving the house too much so I’m basically in shorts, a sports bra, and tanks most of the time.

Stretch marks? Nope

Symptoms: More frequent/occasionally intense Braxton Hicks contractions. Otherwise more of the same: back aches, round ligament pain, more heartburn.

Sleep:  David and I have been trying to get a decent amount of sleep, knowing that we won’t be getting nearly any in the not-so-distant future. I’ve run David out of our bedroom with my snoring and tossing and turning… 😦

Best moment this week: Nothing in particular, just getting closer and closer to actually meeting this kiddo!

Worst moment of the week: We learned late last week that David’s aunt passed away. She was under hospice care for a while, but was one of the nicest people I’ve ever met. My in-laws traveled out of town this week to my uncle’s memorial service, and then will host a local memorial service in a few weeks. Along with my father-in-law getting his 3rd knee replacement surgery at the end of the month, I think they are a bit overwhelmed. Hopefully the baby is a happy distraction from their grief and stress.

Have you told family and friends: Yes

Miss Anything? Ultimate (the team I play with wrapped up the summer season with a pretty decent placement in finals). Laying on my stomach and back. WINE. BEER. Everything, basically.


Movement: Had a few times this week where she decided to move around basically nonstop for almost 2 hours. Omg girl, take a break!

Food cravings: Oreos

Anything making you queasy or sick: Nope


Have you started to show yet: Yes

Gender:  Girl

Labor Signs: (Apologies if this is TMI, but I just want to record this!) I was very surprised to find out at my appointment on Tuesday that I am 3cm dilated, 60% effaced, and at -1 station. Of course this was just after I was telling my doctor that I had very low expectations and that she was NOT allowed to arrive this week because of the grandparents being out of town.


Belly Button in or out? Out

Wedding rings on or off? On, shockingly! I would have thought for sure with the August heat and being 9 months pregnant they wouldn’t fit, but they’re still on.


Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy. It seems like my emotions have leveled out a bit where I’m not extremely anxious or on the brink of tears every 10 minutes.


Looking forward to: Getting a pedicure tomorrow. Really I would just pay the salon to let me sit in their massage chair for an hour, but I guess the toenail polish is a nice touch too 😉

 

Leave a Reply

