Baby Progress: Week 36

How far along? 36 weeks (I’ll be 37 weeks tomorrow which is “term”, but really, I’m OK if she hangs out in there until at least August 1st!)

Total weight gain/loss: about 16.5 lbs

Maternity clothes? In the words of Regina George, “Sweatpants are all that fit me right now.” I’m wearing the same 4-5 tops every week and some of those are starting to get too small. I picked up some patterned elastic waistband sleep pants off the clearance rack at Target that could be passable as trendy palazzo pants to wear in public/to doctor appointments/post-baby. (Even the top I wore in my photo this week looks admittedly ridiculous — I changed out of it pretty quickly after it was taken)

Stretch marks? Nope, but I feel like I am really being stretched lately. Not sure how much longer my skin can handle it.

Symptoms: The frequent pressure on my bladder is awful at times, especially when you’re taking multiple trips to the bathroom in a single hour. I’m also getting to the point where every twinge of pain starts to make me wonder “was that a contraction?”. She’s also up in my ribs occasionally which is uncomfortable. So generally — uncomfortable!

Sleep:  I’ve been sleeping decently (usually getting up around 3am to pee) but I still feel like I have zero energy some days. It’s almost worst than 1st trimester exhaustion because I have to carry this big belly around too.

Best moment this week: Nothing in particular, really…

Worst moment of the week: Same. Maybe a rough night of sleep here or there, but nothing awful.

Have you told family and friends: Yes

Miss Anything? Comfort. Not getting exhausted from taking a shower/standing for a brief period of time/life in general.


Movement: I think she is starting to run out of room, but her hiccups are definitely stronger. She is head down (yay!).

Food cravings: Nothing has really seemed all that appetizing lately.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Nope


Have you started to show yet: Yes

Gender:  Girl

Labor Signs: Nope


Belly Button in or out? Out

Wedding rings on or off? On


Happy or Moody most of the time: Neither?


Looking forward to: Doing a last minute Target run for necessities, packing our hospital bag, and maybe seeing some friends if I have the energy!

Leave a Reply

