Baby Progress: 1st Trimester

Now that the news is “public”, I thought I’d do one of those pregnancy journals. They’re weekly (which I hope isn’t too annoying for those of you who don’t care…), but I thought I’d sum up 1st trimester into a single post instead of rehashing the last 13-ish weeks (some of these responses will be a bit longer than normal since I’m making up for several weeks here). I’m also taking weekly “belly” photos, even though I don’t have much of a baby belly yet. Hopefully I’ll look back on some of these things and laugh at myself in 6 months 🙂

How far along? 14 weeks, but this recap will be from weeks 4 to 13. I’ll start with my week 14 recap on Monday.

Total weight gain/loss: So far I’ve gained about 3 pounds. My OB recommended gaining 25 to 35 pounds total for my BMI. I’m trying not to be a head case about the weight gain part of pregnancy, but I know it’s going to be hard. I am scared to death of being one of those people who gets hugely pregnant, so I am hoping to only gain 25-30 pounds. The less I put on, the easier it will be to come off, right?

Maternity clothes? I haven’t needed any maternity clothes yet, but have started using the hairband-around-the-top-button trick in the past week just to be more comfortable. I have been checking out the clearance racks at Target and Baby Gap for maternity clothes but haven’t stumbled upon anything besides a 70% off BeBand. Even the XS stuff at Target and Gap Maternity looks huge to me right now.

Stretch marks? No, but I already had existing ones ones on my thighs. I’m doomed, right?

Symptoms:  My symptoms have ranged quite a bit from early pregnancy to now. Very early on I was tired, had really sensitive teeth (who knew that was an early pregnancy symptom??), was getting out of breath quickly, had hormonal acne, and of course smelling ALL THE THINGS. My nausea was the worst starting around week 7 and 8 and then got better week by week. I never threw up or gagged, but driving in stop and go traffic was HELL (well, more so than it already is in Atlanta). The tiredness has come back in the last couple of weeks, so I’m hoping that will get better soon too. Maybe TMI, but my boobs have been constantly sore the entire time and my nose is non-stop runny. Hoping that goes away soon.

Sleep: Early on I didn’t sleep very well, mainly because of anxiety. I’m sleeping better now, but getting up regularly 1x per night to pee. Last night I slept for 9 hours straight and I’m still so sleepy today.

Best moment this week(s):
The last few weeks have been fun as we’ve had 2 ultrasounds and have told friends and family.
During the last ultrasound, she was moving around a ton so that was really cool to see.

Worst moment of the week(s): Over this time I think the nausea was the worst, even though I don’t think I had it that bad. I remember a few days of just sitting at work with my head on my desk. It was more like that hungover feeling like I really WANTED to throw up, because then at least I knew I’d feel better for a period of time.

Have you told family and friends: Yes, we went “Facebook public” last week 🙂

Miss Anything?
Just coffee lately. I’ve been drinking some caffeine (beyond my 1 daily coffee) in the form of Coke Zero more recently just to stay awake past 9pm. Clothes shopping is really boring now too since most maternity stuff is online only (not like I need any yet).

Movement: Nope

Food cravings: Not really. I guess if I had to pick it’d be breakfast foods. Eggs, french toast, bacon, bagels with cream cheese, and French Toast Crunch cereal 🙂

Anything making you queasy or sick:
Nothing now. Driving in traffic is fine for the time being.

Have you started to show yet: No, I just kind of look like I ate an entire box of Girl Scout cookies.

Gender: It’s a girl! Because we did genetic screening, we were able to find out the sex pretty early. It’s kind of crazy and everyone is surprised (and of course I have to explain the genetic screening thing) when I tell them we already know. Both David and I from the beginning thought it would be a girl.

Labor Signs: No


Belly Button in or out?
In. It’s weird to think that my belly button may be “out” one day.

Wedding rings on or off?
On

Happy or Moody most of the time:
Happy, but I’ve had my share of road rage and inexplicable crying moments.

Looking forward to: 2nd trimester! Or, more accurately, the lack of 1st trimester symptoms (I’m looking at you, fatigue)!

Leave a Reply

