A Pinterest Tip That Actually Works

If you’re a Pinterest user, I’m sure you’ve seen a bunch of tips and tricks that may or may not work. Well I can give this one the Laura stamp of approval!

Screen shot 2013-04-25 at 6.09.23 PM

Since I am in deep cleaning mode around here, and the cook top was covered in a layer of sawdust, I decided to try this trick out. Basically you put the grates in a gallon plastic bag with some ammonia (the source says to use 2-3 tablespoons but I’ll let you in on my little secret that I just eyeballed it and dumped some in there) and let it sit overnight. I don’t know about you guys, but I wasn’t about to include cleaning off the grates in my morning routine, so I let them sit overnight and the whole next day, waiting for me when I got home from work. After wiping off the grossness with a sponge and laying them to dry, they look great! Well, as great as a 10 year old cook top can look.

Ta-da! Now the hard part is just keeping them clean while making spaghetti!

5 thoughts on “A Pinterest Tip That Actually Works

    • I had the same problem because my grates are all connected! Toss them in a rubbermaid, the shorter the better, and seal the lid with saran wrap. I would toss the whole bucket outside though just in case there are any leaks or cracks in your tub.
      *I also used about 3 cups of amonia to cover the bottom of the tub but it may have been excessive.

  1. I just put mine inside the oven when I run the self clean. They come out and you just basically dust off all the ash and they are like brand new!

Leave a Reply

