Infield Fly Rule?

If you’ve been anywhere near a TV or the city of Atlanta this past weekend you know exactly what I’m talking about.

The day started off innocently enough. A gorgeous day for a “playoff” game.

Look guys, my phone can do panorama photos! (for like the past year…yeah, I can be an iPhone hater).

(That probably just broke my blog layout…ah well)

So it wasn’t the prettiest defensive game by the Braves. By the 7th inning I went into a quiet state of depression. In the 8th inning, this happened.

And then the trash throwing happend (photo from my phone):

My lucky husband with over 15 years of experience playing baseball got to explain to everyone around us the infield fly rule and how this was a very, very bad call. At least Atlanta fans have passion for their team. It took about 20 minutes for the fans to finally stop throwing stuff on the field and for the grounds crew to clean it all up. I think this article sums up the night really well. Yes we shot ourselves in the foot (numerous times), but we had a chance. Momentum is HUGE in sports, especially baseball.

By the 9th inning, and Chipper Jones’ final at bat, I was just trying to keep it together emotionally. (Another phone photo below, sorry, I was too focused on the game to use my DSLR.)

So here we are, 7 months until baseball begins again…at least the Falcons are 5-0?

Leave a Reply

