I’m Crafty! No Sew Ottoman Slipcover

After I found a super easy no sew ottoman slipcover tutorial from Pinterest, I wanted to give it a try on my own. I am the least crafty person when it comes to fabric (I can’t even sew a button, honestly) so this could have turned into a disaster. Here’s what I started with (excuse the splotch of paint on the wall there!).

I added this little desk to our entryway earlier this year and put this brown leather ottoman underneath it (from Target a few years ago, but I believe they still carry it). Too much brown! I don’t really have anywhere else to put this ottoman, and I am too cheap to buy something new, so a slipcover it was.

Since this was my first attempt, I used a canvas drop cloth as my slipcover. Apparently not all drop cloths are created equal, and I just ordered this one from Amazon. Apparently there are prettier drop cloths out there from Lowe’s or Home Depot, so buy at your own risk! I also didn’t wash it before hand, whoops.

Following these tutorial directions, I draped the drop cloth over the ottoman, marked lines for cutting, and started working with my hem tape. I cheated a little bit and used one of the pre-hemmed sides as the front. This part still took me a long time. Next I just used fabric glue and added some dark brown ribbon around the bottom. I just eyeballed it, which turned out pretty well I think. Finally I added ribbon on the corners to cinch everything together.

So what do you think? I am considering doing this for the other ottoman in our living room, but I want to pick a patterned fabric. I’d probably also use some other kind of fastener than ribbon. I’m also trying to figure out where to put the above canvas. It may not be staying there…decisions, decisions!

Leave a Reply

