Newest Addition to the Lens Lineup

I had this post all typed up and ready to go before I went to go pickup my new lens at the post office. When I returned from the post office, I saw this:

The dog had pulled my ultra wide angle lens off the bedroom dresser and used it as a chew toy. I think it’s dead. 😦 For an animal without opposable thumbs, he sure did do a good job of removing the lens cap, removing the (twist on) rear cap, removing the (twist on) lens hood, and removing the zoom grip. The front glass seems fine (the filter is cracked obviously since it seems like it took a fall down the steps), but the mount is toast. There are also chew marks all over the sides. I am planning on sending it into Tokina to see what they say, but I don’t think it will be good.

We have been leaving Gauss out of his crate for short trips like to run to the grocery store, but this incident seems to prove that he is not ready for freedom from his crate yet.

I am pretty bummed, since I haven’t even had this lens for 6 months, and it was the most expensive one I own. On top of that, David’s Macbook Pro was pronounced dead this past weekend due to liquid damage. What else can go wrong???

**Ok, mourning over. Back to my original post.**

I finally got around to selling my old DSLR (Nikon D40) and kit lens, and got this monster of a lens:

It’s the Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G VR. I sold my old gear on Amazon to offset the cost a little bit. I am really excited to try it out this weekend at an ultimate tournament!

I also created a new page in my header that lists all of my photography gear if you are interested in what I use.

3 thoughts on “Newest Addition to the Lens Lineup

  1. We try to leave Chester out from time to time, but only for short stints, and it often results in him eating some amount of chocolate that we didn’t realize we had. I think some dogs just don’t ever graduate to free roaming. I’m sorry about your new lens, my fingers are crossed for you!

  2. Pingback: More Lens Drama and More Paint Drama | To Newlywedism and Beyond…

  3. Pingback: New Lens (Again) | To Newlywedism and Beyond...

Leave a Reply

