Painted Black Door — Done!

I am finally done painting our patio french door from white to black! Here is your before and after:

(I apologize for the extremely poor lighting in the ‘after’ photo, I took it at like 7pm…)

I am not going to write a “how to”, because I am a total n00b, but here is my ‘experience’. First off, here are all of the tools I used.

This was my first time using oil based paint, which was an interesting experience to say the least. The consistency of the primer was very thick and almost goopy, where the black paint I used was almost like water. I did 1 coat of primer and 2 coats of black. Honestly I was freaking out after the 1st coat of black because it looked terrible. The finish was not consistent at all. I used a 2 inch foam roller for most of the door and a brush for the edges. That was exactly the problem. I couldn’t get the foam roller to sit flush against all of the areas of the door (this might be doable if you take the door off the hinges). For the 2nd coat I only used the brush and did long, single smooth strokes across the whole width and length of the door. It is not perfect, but I think it looks pretty good. I didn’t tape off the windows, and just used a razor blade and Windex to scrape off the extra paint. I also didn’t end up using the Penetrol because the black paint was already very watery. (Penetrol is used with oil based paint, Floetrol is used with latex based paints for those that are curious!). Adding any amount of Penetrol would have made it extra drippy.

Total cost for this project was about $45 for the paint and supplies (some of which I already had). We have 2 other sets of double french doors in the basement that I may end up painting someday, but 5 hours of work (priming, painting, sanding, and scraping) for a single door? Yeah, I’ll hold off on that project until I forget about how much work this 1 door was.

4 thoughts on “Painted Black Door — Done!

  1. is your ??grid lines?? on the inside of the pane of glass or outside? ours are in between & i am completely baffled as to how it comes apart? i believe your post came up when i googled ‘painting 15 pane door’. thanks in advance for your help & yours looks awesome by the way:)

  2. Pingback: Black black black | To Newlywedism and Beyond...

  3. Pingback: My Office Update | To Newlywedism and Beyond...

Leave a Reply

