Cannon Beach and Haystack Rock, Part 1

As I mentioned in my last post, I headed west last week for a work trip to Portland and Seattle. Being in Portland for a few days and for my first time, I simply could not pass up the opportunity to go to Cannon Beach. Cannon Beach is a fairly well known spot if you are either a landscape photographer, or have ever watched the movie Goonies.

With Cannon Beach about an hour and a half away from Portland (where I was staying), immediately after I was done with work stuff, I rushed off to go check out the beach. I was stalking the weather for a solid week before my trip and really only had 1 chance to make it out there without an 80%+ chance of rain (how do you people deal with this much rain?!).

I hit some early traffic since it was around rush hour, but eventually was on my way. The drive just to get to the beach was stunning in itself. To get to the coast, you drive through a few state forests on a road called Sunset Highway. If I could operate my camera and drive simultaneously I would have more photos besides this crappy cell phone photo. This was before the evergreen state forest-y area.

As I drove into the evergreen forest-y area, I did the best I could to keep my eyes on the road, but it was just stunning. I literally said out loud in the car, to no one, several times “Oh my God”. I wanted to pull over to takes photos several times, but also needed to make it to the beach before it got too dark (sunset was scheduled for around 8:15pm — I told you I did my research!). I did pull over once (where I saw another car pulled over) to take some photos of this river area that looked like a scene from a Disney movie. I ran into another photographer there who was from Arizona and he was pretty giddy. This is the most opposite of Arizona you can get.

There was a small path where you could tell others had traversed that I tried to stick to as to not interrupt the landscape any further. I can’t remember if this was in one of the state forests areas or not, but you could tell when you were not in a state forest area. In non-state forest areas there were large mountainsides of bare tree stumps. Oregon is a major timber producer (thanks Wikipedia!) which is understandable, but it was painful to see. I saw one area where it looks like they had replanted baby trees in place of the ones they cut down, but I wonder how that works with the existing root systems getting crowded in the ground?

Anyways, I headed back to the car and back towards the beach. This post is getting pretty lengthy, so I’ll be back with Part 2!

One thought on “Cannon Beach and Haystack Rock, Part 1

  1. Pingback: Cannon Beach and Haystack Rock, Part 2 | To Newlywedism and Beyond…

Leave a Reply

