Camera Wish List

Only 2 months until my birthday and I am already thinking about what kind of lens I want to buy myself! Ha, ok, normally I don’t just buy my own birthday presents (trust me), but my birthday also happens to be just around BONUS TIME at work. Yay! While usually a good portion of my bonus goes to savings or paying down husband’s car loan, I always have to get a little something for myself. I think every year it has been photography related (starting with a new point & shoot my first bonus year – ha!), with the exception of one year where I just spent the whole day shopping for clothes. 🙂

So I’m already considering what to get next. Here’s what I’m thinking about:

Nikon SB-700 AF Speedlight — $329

An external flash would be great and I’ve heard people rave about how they are really useful, but I’m not so sure when I’d use it. I would be somewhat limited to where I use it in our house because the kitchen and living room have such high ceilings (nowhere to bounce the light?).

Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 ultra wide angle zoom — $699 (with a $40 instant rebate through the end of March)

This is a really great price for a fixed aperture zoom lens, and I fell in love with the ultra wide focal length when I rented the Nikon 10-24 during our trip to New York. It would be a lot of fun, but I’m wondering if I need to get something a little more serious/everyday first.

Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 ($610) or Tamrom 28-75 f/2.8 ($500)

I’m not super excited about either of these, but it would be nice to have a higher quality zoom lens in this focal length. Extra bonus could be selling my D40 with the kit lens.

And lastly, the Nikon 70-300 f/4.5-5.6 VR ($589)

This lens would be great for football games, ultimate tournaments, dog photos…I already have the Nikon 55-200mm which is ok, but it would be nice to have the extra 100mm of reach and better build quality.

So at least I have a while to decide what I want to do. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

