Nikon D7000 and D40 focus test

As I mentioned in my last post, I had a hunch that my D7000 was back focusing. Well unfortunately I was right. I followed the directions in this focus test and ran the test on my D40 and my D7000. I used my kit lens and my 35mm f/1.8 lens (although the results below are just from the 35).

Here is my setup:

The directions say to setup at a 45 degree angle. I think when I tested the kit lens I was at a slightly lower angle because I had to set it at 18mm for the lowest aperture. On to the results!

Here is the result of the D40.

And if you zoom in to the important part…

Looks pretty good, right? Maybe slightly front focusing, but good in my book for a pretty much outdated camera body. Now onto the results for the D7000.

It looks okay from far away, but let’s get a little closer…

Hmm. Not good. It looks like right around the back 6mm is the most in focus. Luckily my camera comes with a nifty little setting called AF (autofocus) fine tune. Unfortunately I had to set it to the max value to get a good focus. Here is the same focus test with the AF fine tune set to -20.

And the close up:

Here is the “before” again, for reference:

So, at least this saved me from sending my camera back to Nikon at least for now. I’ll keep an eye on it and see if it is any worse with other lenses.

Leave a Reply

